There are 6 different category types of ethernet cables. If one pays for 50 Mbps for internet then which category would be best recommend to buy? and why do you think fits best?

20 months ago by

Possible answers

Category 3

Category 5

Category 5 e

Category 6

Category 7

1 Answer

20 months ago by

The most common standards for ethernet cabling are Category 5, 5e, and 6. Category 3 is used for telephone lines and DSL Internet. The vast majority of homes and offices are already wired with one of these cabling standards. If you do not require cabling through the walls of your home or office, the category of ethernet cable is not important to the situation. If you have a 50Mbps connection, the category of ethernet cable is not important to the situation, since Category 5 supports a connection of speeds up to 1000Mbps. If you are buying your internet from an ISP, you are more than likely receiving your Internet via coaxial cable, not ethernet.

Please login to add an answer/comment or follow this question.